Togo is……

the smallest country of Africa. 56,785 km2 (1/2 Qc). Bordered by Gulf of GuineaGhana to the west, Benin to the east and Burkina Faso to the north. Capital: Lomé. 7 milions inhabitants. Indigenous beliefs 51%. Christian 29%. Muslim 20%. Languages: French, Ewe, Mina, Kabye, Dagomba. More than 40 different ethnic groups. More than 60% of Togo’s population is under 25 (?).Tropical climate. 4 main regions: savanna in north; central hills; southern plateau; low coastal plain.

From the 11th to the 16th century, various tribes entered the region from all parts or Africa. From the 16th century to the 18th century, the coastal region greatly suffered from Colonialism and was a major trading centre for Europeans in search of slaves. In 1884, Germany declaredTogoland a protectorate. After World War I, rule over Togo was transferred to France. Togo gained its independence from France in 1960 making Togo one of the 10th African countries to gain indépendance.